Fasting

The subject of FASTING has always been of interest to me. It may surprise some how many Bible verses mention fasting. According to my search there are 78 instances of some form of the word + 3 indirect references. A few years ago I prepared a sermon on the subject. My approach was to look at all of the passages and ask: WHAT WAS THE SPECIFIC PURPOSE for this particular fast. I found a total of sixteen different purposes. Most of these purposes, it seems to me, would serve Christians well today. After preaching on the subject yesterday, there was at least one request for the list of passages. I decided to make the entire outline available in PDF format (CLICK HERE). Study these and let me know if you have comments.

–DRL

Powered by ScribeFire.

One thought on “Fasting

  1. Pingback: Purposes of fasting « United Prayer

Comments are closed.