If God is With Me


If God is With Me, I CAN Do It!

by David Lemmons

If there ever was an example of a faithful steward, surely one of them would be Eliezer. His name is spoken in Abraham’s prayer to God in Genesis 15:2—And Abram said, Lord God, what wilt thou give me, seeing I go childless, and the steward of my house is this Eliezer of Damascus? While it is not certain, in that the name is not used, Eliezer is most likely the same steward of which we read in Genesis 24. If we study the steps of this steward in carrying out the will of his master in this great chapter, we can learn much about faithful stewardship.

The assignment given to Eliezer was not an easy one. It would be a difficult matter for him to travel such a great distance and bring back from Abraham’s homeland a wife for Isaac.
In Genesis 24:7-9 we see in Eliezer an attitude of heart which is so much needed by all of God’s people everywhere and which was turned into a great success for Eliezer and Abram. He had the IF GOD IS WITH ME, I CAN DO IT attitude! Look at the text…

Gen 24:7-9 The LORD God of heaven, which took me from my father’s house, and from the land of my kindred, and which spoke unto me, and that swore unto me, saying, Unto thy seed will I give this land; he shall send his angel before thee, and thou shalt take a wife unto my son from thence. Gen 24:8 And if the woman will not be willing to follow thee, then thou shalt be clear from this my oath: only bring not my son thither again. Gen 24:9 And the servant put his hand under the thigh of Abraham his master, and swore to him concerning that matter.

There is no doubt that Eliezer had seen how God had greatly blessed Abraham. Having seen this, all of the “WHAT IF’s,” that surely would have otherwise plagued Eliezer’s comfort level with this task were eliminated. He was ready to depart!

The confident assurance of Eliezer is of the same type which led that great man of God, Caleb, to demonstrate such leadership and faithfulness to God when it came time to go up against the giants in the land at the age of 85. Listen to Caleb—“Now therefore give me this mountain, whereof the LORD spoke in that day; for thou heardest in that day how the Anakims were there, and that the cities were great and fenced: if so be the LORD will be with me, then I shall be able to drive them out, as the LORD said” (Joshua 14:12). Earlier he had expressed the same confidence even outnumbered 6 to 1… “Let us go up at once, and possess it; for we are well able to overcome it” (Numbers 13:30). What a marvelous example of faithful optimism Caleb was! How wise we are to hold him before us as an example.

Isn’t this also the same confident assurance David possessed as he went up against the giant, Goliath? David reveals the reason for his confident bravery in conversation with Goliath… “Then said David to the Philistine, Thou comest to me with a sword, and with a spear, and with a shield: but I come to thee in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom thou hast defied” (1 Samuel 17:5).

When we consider these three excellent examples who shared the IF GOD IS WITH ME I CAN DO IT attitude, is there not a lesson for us? The last words in Matthew’s record of the Great Commission are: and lo I am with you always, even unto the end of the world (Matthew 28:20). Considering this and those examples, how can we have anything but an optimistic and positive attitude as we go about doing the Lord’s will here upon earth? It is true that there are multitudes of negative thoughts, influences, and events which Satan will seek to use to divert us from optimistic service to the Lord, but we must set those aside and keep on faithfully serving the Lord in the spirit of Eliezer, Caleb, and David.

Powered by ScribeFire.

