Wonderful Gift

In visiting this morning, I was privileged to visit one of our members who is unable to get out to our assemblies. She happens to be quite an artist! She also is 83 years young and suffers a great deal of pain from arthritis and other physical problems. In times past she has been actively involved in the work of the Bellevue Road church in Dublin. We appreciate her efforts and are thankful that she finds ways to keep her mind and her imagination active as she is confined to her home. She continues to contribute of her means as God prospers her to the work of the church in Dublin. I bring to her the handouts we use in our Bible classes on Sunday morning and Wednesday nights.

One of her recent “projects” was to draw and paint the scene above for my oldest daughter, Heather. In a previous visit, we had spoken about some lighthouse scenes that hanged on her walls and I told her that my daughter loves lighthouses. On the painting above, at the bottom border, the inscription is: 3-10-2008. Bridie V. Truman, 83 Years old. What a wonderful gift that I will be able to give my daughter when she visits here in two or three weeks.

